Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Versioning

 

Versioning deals with version of content you are using via content player which attendees can use for their learning purpose. 

In case your content is old, you make some changes in that and release it, so that attendee will be trained on the newer content version. 

How the application should be handle this case is taken care by versioning.

Customizing options:

(Path: SPRO> Training and Event Management> SAP Learning Solution> Training Management> Day-to-Day Activities> Versioning)

1.     Specify Change Categories:

Here you specify that how you classify the changes made by authors to content that has already been published. Content changes may have different forms:


 

Ø  Formal changes, such as corrections to spelling, punctuation, or semantics.

Ø  Structural changes, such as restructuring individual units, swapping units and so on.

Ø  Legal changes that require units to be amended, modified, or replaced


 

When an author checks reviewed content into the Master Repository of the Authoring Environment, he or she is requested to classify the changes made to the new version as one of the

above.

Depending on the change category, you specify what system reaction should occur for a version update. You specify this setting in the IMG activity Specify System Reaction.

2.     Specify System Reaction:

Here you specify for each change category what the system reaction should be in the event of a version update. You define the system reaction using a combination of three parameters:

booking update, learning progress, and price procedure.

Only certain combinations make sense. For example, the price procedure fee paying is always coupled with a manual booking update. In such cases, the learner has the option of deciding

against a fee-paying booking for the new content version and of continuing to use the previous version of the content instead.

In the event of a version update that is free of charge, the original participation booking is retained. The system transfers the booking to the new content version and there is only one

booking record stored.

In the event of a fee-paying version update, the original booking is delimited. The system makes a new booking for the new content version and the usual approval workflow is triggered.

After approval, there are two bookings recorded. 

Customizing Example: 

 

Now let us explain how system will behave if you have below customizing settings in system:

              0001 Minor Changes 0001 A Automatically S will be retained 0 Free of Ch.

              0002 Major Changes 0002 A Automatically D will be deleted. 0 Free of Ch.

System Response:

1.       You changed the content. The system has only to consider the persons, who were booked on the WBT before this change took place. There is no effect for the new bookings.

           Those persons will automatically access the new content. 

2.       Once one of the booked persons (the very first one, after the content has been changed) access the detail page of the course (WBT) a new WBT, which points to the new content,

          will be automatically created and this person will be automatically booked on this new WBT (with the same participation document 'tpartdocno', because you have set in the

          customizing that these changes are free of charge). If the learner will start the course afterwards, he will get the new content. 

3.       All other learners will be informed, that a new version does exist and that an update is required (if he jumps to the 'my activities' page).  Once he click the course-link and jumps to the

          detail page of that course, he will be automatically booked on the new WBT (created by the very first learner) with the same 'tpartdocno'. If he will 'start the course' he will get the

          new content'.  

Important Points to be noted regarding application behavior: 

The creation of a new version will be not visible for the learners, who booked the course on the same date before the versioning take place. He will only see the information (that an 'update

is required') on the next day.

If the changes are set as fee-paying then a very new booking record will be created with a new 'tpartdocno'. This will be a normal booking process (with all the participants' checks).

If you defined and activated the follow-up process step S G, then the participation will delimited with the confirmation. Learners have to book him again. If there is a new version, then he

will get the new content.

Deployment of a new version affect the learners who are in the middle of the course, they will get the information about the new version. 

You can refer below notes for more information:

1.       Note No. 1381979 Incorrect message displayed in portal after versioning

2.       Note No. 1442651 Info type 5049 settings at course type level not considered

3.       Note No. 1228485 Versioning: Automatic update not working

4.       Note No. 1368851 After Versioning Update Required calls wrong content

  • No labels